One Last One

There is a farmer in California who was trying to do something that hadn’t been done before: custom shaped pumpkins. He was looking for a way to make a mold that pumpkins could grow into and form – naturally – the shape of Frankenstein, to sell for the fall and Halloween season. He tried a whole bunch of approaches and processes, putting everything he had into it, until finally he felt there was nothing left, and he couldn’t come up with something that worked.

So, he was about to give up, he had reached the end of the line, and he had just one last approach to try. Just one more. So he gave it a shot, and amazingly, it worked.

Behold, the Pumpkinstein!
pumpkinstein

He is going to make a lot of money and a lot of kids are going to have some fun, because when everything looked like a complete failure, when it looked like there was nothing left, he pulled out one last inspiration.

One last one. And he found just what he was looking for.

When I was in college, my father gave me his gold Irish Claddagh ring to wear. That’s the ring with the two hands, the heart, a crown on top. If you are from Boston with an Irish background, a Claddagh ring is very important. So I wore it proudly on my right hand, although I had a little bit of a problem: it started to slide around on my finger when it got cold out.

Well, one day I went to play basketball at the school gym for a few hours, and after I got back to my dorm room and went to take a shower, I noticed that the ring was gone! I knew it had to have been lost while I was playing hoop. So I went quickly down to the gym, which was now empty except for one other person. And then I began the search …

I decided on a method to walk up and down the whole court slowly, scouring the floor like a hawk to notice anything gold. The nice brown flooring didn’t help for seeing a gold ring. But I didn’t give up, I went up and down the whole court where I had played. And again. After about an hour or so, it became obvious that it wasn’t there. As I slowly walked to the middle of the court, discouragement set in as the thought of having lost it started to sink in. It was over. I took a deep breath, and as I was about to turn and walk out, I said to myself, “OK, one LAST quick look.” And I turned around, turning my head to take one last glance at some random spot on the ground.

It happened to be the exact spot where the rang sat.

When you feel inspired to look for a great treasure in life, get ready for a long trip and a lot of failure. There will be a time when you are ready to give up and you will probably struggle with discouragement. Maybe have some injuries you pick up along the way. But although it may seem like you’ve tried everything, that you’ve spent all your inspirations, if you’ve got a gut that tells you, “One last one,” listen to it.

You may find just what you’re looking for.

Ask, and it will be given you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. For every one who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened.” (Mt 7:7-8)

Claddagh Ring

Leave a Reply

