You And Him

Living in the village Chontal here, I stay in the parish house that is next to the church. It’s basically just me and Jesus, as I live alone. I don’t cook any big meals for myself, in part because I don’t have a fridge and also because I’ve never liked cooking for just one person. So, I go out to eat for the big meals.

The problem is that there is really only 1 restaurant that I can go to in the evening, so I go a lot to the home of a family of friends that I’ve stayed with in the past, and share in the meal with them.

It is always a great meal, but it always has a price. See, they watch the soap operas at night, so to eat there means that I have to watch the soap operas with them. It’s one of the last things that I want to do, but that’s the price. There is one that is very popular, and after a while the theme song got stuck in my head. What torture! But then, one day, I actually listened to the words: my heart is yours, because now we’re you and me. OK, in Spanish it has a nice little rhyme and play on words that you don’t get in English, and I thought that was clever. But then it struck me: this is what Jesus wants to say to us. It’s what being a disciple is all about. It’s what life is all about!

This weekend is celebrated the feasts of the hearts of Jesus and Mary. Now, those two hearts always go together, and that’s because Mary really has Jesus’ heart. How did she get it? I’m glad you asked. Well, let’s start at the vet beginning. When she first was pregnant with Jesus, it was obviously just her and him. At Christmas in the manger, it was her and him. At his very first miracle at the wedding in Cana, it was her and him. At the foot of the cross, it was her and him. See, that’s the whole them off Mary’s life: her and him. And that’s why Mary has Jesus’s heart: he gave it to her.

Because it was her and him.

That’s what Jesus wants to be able to say to each one of us. My heart is yours, because now we’re you and me. It’s really the whole meaning of being a disciple, really the whole meaning of life.

Jesus wants to be able to give us his heart. But there’s only one way it can happen.

When it’s just you and him.

“If anyone loves me, he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him.” (Jn 14:23)

Leave a Reply

