An Open Heart Costs

Here in the village Chontal, I’m living in the parish house next to the church.  That means that one of the things I can do is open the church a lot more, to be available to anyone at any time in the day to come and be with God in a special way.  Normally, the church here is only open when there is an organized activity.  But as long as I’m nearby in the village, I like to keep it open for everyone to have personal time with God available.

Now, there are some risks and costs to opening the church like that.  We have to pay a bit more for the electric bill.  And what happens if the chickens, which normally roam all around the church area, walk into the church and poop.  Or worse, the dogs that go roaming around.  Or, what if kids go in just to fool around, and what if someone decides to take something.  The big complaint is that the dirt and dust from the street will collect faster, and it does.  What it all means is that the church has to be cleaned and tended to more often.  That’s the risk and cost to having an open church.  So, I think it’s safe to say that some people want the church to be closed.

Every week or two, I leave the village completely.  I pay a little money to travel and I get away to a place where nobody knows me, where I can be alone, and it’s there that I can reflect and pray.  I go to the sacrament of reconciliation a lot.  And do you know why I do all that?  Because I have to clean up.  I have to clean up all the dirt and dust, the poop from the animals, I have to repair something that might be damaged or missing.  I have to tend to my heart more often.

That’s the risk and cost of having an open heart.

The Gospels say that Jesus regularly went to a lonely place to pray.  Because he has to clean up.  He has to clean up all the dirt and the dust, all the footprints and mud and junk, to fix what might be broken or what has gone missing.  Jesus has to tend to his heart a lot.

That’s the risk and cost of having an open heart.

It’s easy to have a closed heart.  You save a lot of time and money on lighting and clean up, and you don’t worry about what might get inside.  But if we want God in our heart, if we want our heart to be a lit place where other people find joy and life and happiness in the moments that they really need them, then that means it’s going to cost us.  We’re going to have to clean and we’re going to have to pay.

That’s the risk and cost of having a heart like Jesus’

An open heart.

Create in me a clean heart, O God,
and put a new and right spirit within me…
Restore to me the joy of your salvation,
and uphold me with a willing spirit.
Then I will teach those astray your ways,
and they will return to you…
O Lord, open my lips,
and my mouth will proclaim your praise!
(Psalm 51)

image

One thought on “An Open Heart Costs

  1. another good post from Jerome.

    s

    Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

    From:”A Living Monstrance” Date:Sat, May 30, 2015 at 7:25 AM Subject:[New post] An Open Heart Costs

    alivingmonstrance posted: “Here in the village Chontal, I’m living in the parish house next to the church.  That means that one of the things I can do is open the church a lot more, to be available to anyone at any time in the day to come and be with God in a special way.  Normally”

Leave a Reply

