Take A Little Step Toward Him

Amazing, isn’t it?  God actually listened to Abraham and did what he wanted.  I mean, how many people actually tell God what to do?  How did he do that?

When someone speaks fast to me in Spanish down here, it sounds like gibberish to me.  There are three possible responses I can take.

The first is to “yes” the person away and move on.  That’s the I don’t care path.  The second is to get a little upset, like, “Hey, you know I don’t speak that well, why don’t you understand – you have to speak slowly to me.”  That’s the impatient path.  But then there’s the third way.  I notice that I do this certain thing when I can’t understand someone.

I take a step toward them, and I turn my head a little bit, and I say, “What?”

Then, for example, I can make out a word the next time around.  “blahblahblah .. Tomorrow .. Blahblahblah.”  A word!  Then the next thing I do, is I take another little step toward them, and I turn my head a little more, and I say again, “What?”  “Blahblah … Tomorrow … Blahblah … 9 o’clock… blablah”  Wait, *two* words.  So one more time, I take another little step toward them, and I turn my head a little more, “What?”  “Blahblah … We leave … blahblah … tomorrow … blahblah … 9 o’clock”  Oh, we’re leaving tomorrow at nine o’clock, that sounds great, awesome!  And I’ve finally gotten the message and made a few people laugh in the process.

God speaks to us through the events of our life.  It comes across as gibberish to us.  We have a bunch of thoughts and feelings as we react to life, and we don’t know how it all makes sense.  We have three options.  We can tune out what’s going on inside.  That’s the I don’t care path.  We can get mad at someone.  That’s the impatient path.  Or we can take the third path.  We take a step toward God, turn our head a little bit, and say, “What?”

That’s the way that Abraham went.  And that’s why, when it was Abraham’s turn to talk to God, God did the same thing.  He took a little step toward Abraham, turned His head a little bit, and said, “What?”  Three times.

God wants to answer our prayers.  But first we have to listen to Him.  He sounds like gibberish to us.  But we have an option.

Take a little step toward Him, turn our head, and say, “What?”

“And I tell you, ask and you will receive; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.  For everyone who asks, receives; and the one who seeks, finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.” (Lk 11:9-10)

Leave a Reply

