God Works With What Little You Have

A reflection I am sharing with a few groups this weekend in Puerto Quito on the Gospel – in Spanish and in fewer words …. enjoy!

************************

OK, put up your two fists in the air, just for now … OK, ready? Now, using your fingers, show my how many words you know in English. No, you can’t use your toes, just your fingers … OK, I can see 3, I can see 8. OK. Now, ready? Who wants to tell a story about their lives to everyone here – in English. Do I hear crickets?

Well, welcome to my world. Every week, I get up in front of a bunch of people and share a story of my life, and I have a very small Spanish vocabulary to work with. I am anxious and nervous, because I need about 5000 words and I feel like I only have about five. But there’s a reason I do it. It’s because Jesus wants me to. God is with me. He’ll satisfy everyone with my few words.

That is exactly the situation that the disciples are in when Jesus tells them to feed 5000 people and they only have 5 loaves and 2 fish. There is only one reason that they do it, it’s because Jesus wants them to. They know that God is with them. He’s going to satisfy everyone with their few loaves of bread.

When Jesus wants us to do something, it can seem like we’re not qualified, like we’re too weak or we don’t have enough. But don’t be afraid. God will be with you. He’ll work miracles with what little you have.

He said to them, “Give them some food yourselves.”
They replied, “Five loaves and two fish are all we have,
unless we ourselves go and buy food for all these people.”
Now the men there numbered about five thousand.
Then he said to his disciples,
“Have them sit down in groups of about fifty.”
They did so and made them all sit down.
Then taking the five loaves and the two fish,
and looking up to heaven,
he said the blessing over them, broke them,
and gave them to the disciples to set before the crowd.
They all ate and were satisfied.
(Lk 9:13-14,17)

Leave a Reply

