God Trusts Us

OK, let me start with a confession. I think that Christians and people who are looking to live a good life, I think we have a little memory problem. I think that sometimes we get caught up in thinking about what we’re going to do, and we forget who we are. I think we make things complicated and we doubt who God is, and what He wants to do for us. I think we forget that we are family to Him, and that He actually trusts us.

After my mother died, my father ended up moving down to Virginia, about 500 miles away. Well, in the meantime while I was still in the family house, we decided that I would buy his car off of him. Well, there’s a big problem with that when the owner is 90 years old and lives 500 miles away. How are you going to do all the paper work?

But we had a solution. I had a document with three signatures on it: mine, my father’s, and a lawyer’s. That’s right, this document gave me all the capacity to sign my father’s name on anything. I could go to the bank and take out any money that I wanted. I could sell or buy his property. I could pick up medication or pay bills, use his credit card. Everything that was my father’s, was like it was mine. Because I had power of attorney.

Now, here’s the simple question – why? Why did I have power of attorney? Why is it that everything that was my father’s was basically mine?

Because I’m his son.

He trusts me.

Jesus has this from His Father, He has power of attorney. Everything that is the Father’s, is His. He can do anything and everything in His Father’s Name. And now, in the Gospel today, He is giving it also to His disciples. That means that we have power of attorney with God. Everything that is His is ours. Everything! And we have His Name, we can sign for God on anything. Now, in our forgetfulness, I bet you can think of a million reasons to doubt that, to wonder, how can that be? Why does God do that?

Because … we’re His sons and daughters.

God trusts us.

“Everything that the Father has is mine; for this reason I told you that he will take from what is mine and declare it to you.” (Jn 16:15)

Happy Feast of the Holy Trinity!

power of attorney

Leave a Reply

