Now It’s Our Turn

Whew! OK, ready. Let out a big relaxing breath, everything inside your lungs. Ready? Go ahead …. Wheeeeew ….

Great! Because that’s exactly what Jesus did when He breathed on His disciples.

My sister was born with severe brain damage, and she never developed, she never grew physically, mentally, psychologically. She was like a constant baby, a continual dependent. My mother took care of her for over 20 years. That means feeding her three meals every day, changing her clothes, changing her diapers, surviving her seizures every day, getting up in the middle of every night to her cries to bring her a drink of orange juice, sorting out her medications, putting a GI tube into her when she had trouble eating. Not to mention cooking every day for 3 men, doing the laundry, the shopping, the cleaning of the house, paying the bills. So you can imagine, it was not so quiet a house, with all the activity and the pulling out of hair and the frustration and shouting.

But at the end of the day, at about 8 o’clock, everything would be done, and my mother would take my sister in her arms, go into the living room and sit in her spot on the couch, and let out a big, Wheeeeeeeew … And for the first time all day, a peace and quiet filled the whole Kiley house!

It’s then I got my inspiration to act. That’s where I got my inspiration to work hard, that’s where I got my inspiration to care for others, that’s where I got my inspiration to give of myself, that’s where I got my inspiration to face realities of life. It’s where I got my inspiration to do my homework, to face bullies, to jump into life, to genuinely care for everyone.

I felt like, now, it’s my turn.

In the Gospel, Jesus has just spent the last three years walking all around the country. He has offered to lift up everyone He’s met. He’s spoken the truth when it was hard. He’s put up with people trying to use Him for gifts and talents. He’s dealt with naysayers and gossipers who lied about Him, who stalked Him, and who had Him killed, naked in front of everyone in the city – and He forgave them all. He gave everything He had, His whole life, and then He rose from the dead. And after it all, after it’s all done, He is finally with His disciples, and He let’s out a big, deep breath:

Wheeeeeeewww …..

And for the first time ever with Jesus, the disciples experience a peace and quiet. And they get inspired.

Now, it’s our turn.

Peace be with you. As the Father has sent me, even so I send you.” (Jn 20:21)

later with lisa

Happy Feast of Pentecost!

Leave a Reply

