A Learning Arrangement

My mother was a great piano player. She wasn’t a professional, but she could read music and play, and she could hear a song for a few minutes and then sit down at the piano and just play it by ear, and usually, some singing accompanied it, too. So, of course I was always fascinated as a kid with her piano playing. At some point, I think when I was about 10 years old, I started to ask and so she taught me about music and the piano. She taught me to read some music and what the notes were on the piano, how to read an “arrangement”, as musicians call it.

Well, not too long afterwards, I remember one day in my school class, the teacher had some problems with the music part. I don’t remember everything, but I do remember that I was after class for a while teaching my teacher. I was showing her how to put the sharps and flats on the music scale that indicate the key that the music is in. It was how to understand the arrangement. Everything I learned from my mother.

When Jesus is twelve years old, he is off in the temple teaching the teachers. He’s talking about God and His salvation, probably teaching them how God arranges everything in history so that life can be lived with Him to its full. He’s teaching them about the Arrangement. And where did He get all that? His mother.

God is arranging everything for us to live life to the full with His Son. And He has given us His mother to teach us all about it. Mary is great at living life with God and she can teach us how to read the arrangement, she can teach us everything we need to know.

Even more than the teachers.

I have more understanding than all my teachers, for your testimonies are my meditation. I understand more than the aged, for I keep your precepts. (Psalm 119)

Happy feast of Mary Mother of God,
Jerome

Leave a Reply

