Why He’s Here

The other day I was visiting a monastery that I go to every now and then to be alone with God. As I was sitting in the public area of the guesthouse, a few older gentlemen were chatting away. “Are we disturbing you?” “No, not at all – this is the public place, this is the place for it.” So I kept reading. By then I had finished my coffee and I could have gone back to my room. But I like being with people and I’m comfortable reading with conversation in the background.

A few minutes later, one of the men came over to me and asked, “Do you know how to work the microwave?” I said, “I knew I was here for a reason!” So I got up and took a look – he wanted to heat up a cup of water, so I showed him what I do: “when I want to heat up a cup of water, all I do is press this one button: beverage. That’s it.” He pressed the button. The microwaves started cooking away. “That’s why I was here, just to point out that one button.” We laughed.

There are times in life when we have no idea how to work the microwave. You know what I mean, when we have no idea what is going on, where we don’t know what to do next, when we don’t know how to get going or how to get out of a situation. Well, the Lord is here with us in the tabernacle, He likes to be with us. He’s ready to give us the help we need, to show us that one thing that frees us, that one button we need to press.

That’s why He’s here.

“And you will know the truth, and the truth will make you free.” (Jn 8:32)

Leave a Reply

