God Loves To Fulfill Our Desires

A few weeks ago I was paging through an old notebook I have and I came across a list of my own desires that I had written down about 3 years ago. There were about 8 or so in a little list. “Wow,” I thought, “I remember this.” But then I noticed something after I looked at them for a while.

Every single one of them had happened, and then some. I mean, God had fulfilled every one of them, and even more than I could have wanted. I didn’t remember that I had these desires, but when I saw the list and I realized what had happened in the meantime since it was written, I realized that He had answered every single one of them.

Remember Zechariah? He was the priest in Luke’s Gospel who God sent an angel to, to let him know that his wife would have a son, even though she couldn’t have children and they were both too old for children. The angel told him: “Do not be afraid, Zechariah, for your prayer is heard, and your wife Elizabeth will bear you a son, and you shall call his name John.” (Lk 1:13) It was an answer to his prayer.

When the angel Gabriel was sent to the Blessed Virgin Mary, it wasn’t out of the blue. It was a response to her prayer. The Romans occupied the land of the Israel, and she knew the time was ripe for God’s salvation. She knew God and His salvation and His promises, who He is. She knew the Hebrew life and the scriptures. She was reading about Sarah and Hannah and Esther and Judith and telling God, I want to do that. She was praying all the Old Testament psalms and prayers with her own heart.

I think in her prayer she was telling God that she wanted to join with Him in His salvation. She was telling Him about her desire to reveal Him to the whole world, so that everyone would know Him. She was telling Him how she wanted herself to gather His people and give them back their whole dignity as being His, to glorify His name. She was telling Him that she wanted to travel to all the ends of the world for every one of His lost, to gather us all together into His family. She told Him her desire for His Merciful Heart, so everyone would know Him through her.

And God fulfilled every single one of her desires, and then some.

God loves to fulfill all our desires, and then some.

What are yours?

“Take delight in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart.” (Ps 37:4)

2 thoughts on “God Loves To Fulfill Our Desires

  1. Jerome! 🙂 How interesting is that! I was thinking the same this week!
    I found a poem that I wrote while ago that says: (it’s translated from portuguese ok? Doesn’t sound like a poem in english)

    Here is a piece of the poem:

    “I running behind (chasing) a dream, a life in Thee,
    where my steps are yours steps and
    all that i have comes from You
    My plans were left on the ground so I can run free
    To find my place
    that has always been kept by you”

    I’m leaving what I asked for time ago!

    Tks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

