It's The Coverup

A few weeks ago I was talking with my friend’s brother Ed who is an agent for the Secret Service. Finally, after chatting about a few things, I just had to ask him. “So, you guard the President?” “The President, diplomats, all of them.” Wow.

Then he started to tell me about his office job. He does the recruiting process. When people apply to be Secret Service agents, they have to pass a very demanding screening process. He is the guy they have to pass through.

What they do is bring the applicants into a big room and close the doors. Then he gives them an intimidating talk. Do you know how many of the applicants make it through the screening process? 2%. That’s right, 2 out of every 100 make it through. So Ed told me, “Then I tell them, do you know why 95% of people don’t make it past me? They lie. They write one thing on their application, and they say something else in the interview. They lie.”

“I ask people about what they put down in the application. They come into the interview and the story starts to change a little bit. See, I don’t care if you did drugs in college. You could do all the drugs you wanted in college. But when something goes wrong in the whitehouse, when you mess up, you better not hide it.”

Then he smiled and told me why he gets so frustrated, why he send out 95% of the applicants: “It’s not the crime – it’s the coverup!”

To be in the Lord’s service, there’s really only one requirement: Sincerity. When He tests us, He is looking only for honesty, transparency. If we are honest with Him, we can be close to the most important Man in the world. Got a boatload of sins and failures? You’re a perfect candidate. That’s no obstacle, that’s a reason to join, you’re the one He wants the most. No, there is only one thing that can make Him frustrated, that can make Him send us away.

It’s not the crime. It’s the coverup.

“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me; for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” (Mt 11:28-29)

Leave a Reply

