The Bargain Hunter

Last week, I was leaving the local supermarket and as I was walking through the narrow doorway out of the supermarket, I realized that the woman in front of me was my friend’s mother, Mary. I surprised her with my greeting, and after we passed through the doorway, we got to talking.

She began to tell me, “You know, every time I go into this supermarket, I think of your mother. She knew everyone in the place, and so she always knew where all the secret bargains were. You could always count on her to find the special deals that you would never know about.”

Not all that many people actually knew my mother Ruth. Many people knew about her because of the care she gave to my sister for so many years, but not that many people actually knew her. But those who did know her always knew where the special deals were in our town.

She was the bargain hunter.

reducedsticker

St. Louis de Montfort wrote about true devotion to the Blessed Virgin Mary and what her role in God’s Kingdom is all about. He wrote: “It all comes to this, then. We must discover a simple means to obtain from God the grace needed to become holy. It is precisely this I wish to teach you. My contention is that you must first discover Mary if you would obtain this grace from God.”

Going the good route, taking up our cross every day and following Christ, is hard to do. We need sweet deals to do it. When we are looking for the most important things we need in living, knowing Mary is the key. She knows where all the secret bargains are, deals that you would never know about if she didn’t reveal them to you. She is the one who shows us how to find that most important thing, that most sweet deal, that most special thing that we really need the most to live our life with God and each other.

Mary is the Bargain Hunter.

“Enter by the narrow gate; for the gate is wide and the way is easy, that leads to destruction, and those who enter by it are many. For the gate is narrow and the way is hard, that leads to life, and those who find it are few.” (Mt 7:13-14)

Signature First Name 2

2 thoughts on “The Bargain Hunter

  1. Come out of her, my people, that ye be not partakers of her sins, and that ye receive not of her plagues. For her sins have reached unto heaven, and God hath remembered her iniquities.

  2. Greet one another with a holy kiss. (Rom 16:16)

    It could have been nice to meet you, Mr. Pete. I will pray for you.

    “Beware of false prophets, who come to you in sheep’s clothing but inwardly are ravenous wolves. You will know them by their fruits. Are grapes gathered from thorns, or figs from thistles? So, every sound tree bears good fruit, but the bad tree bears evil fruit. A sound tree cannot bear evil fruit, nor can a bad tree bear good fruit. Every tree that does not bear good fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire. Thus you will know them by their fruits. “Not every one who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ shall enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. On that day many will say to me, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and cast out demons in your name, and do many mighty works in your name?’ And then will I declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from me, you evildoers.’ (Mt 7:15-23)

Leave a Reply

