The Whole Way

When I was discerning whether to leave behind everything to follow the Lord in close discipleship, I had my little requirement, my demand, for Him.

“Lord, You have to be with me. I will only leave everything and go if You’ll always be with me.”

And He has. He has always been with me, and He always will be. And you know what? I always want to be with Him. I can’t think of what I could want more. I hope for Him to be known and praised, because I am so very thankful for what He’s done for me.

Now, what’s the result of all this? Well, as the Lord has done for me, so I get to do for others. “This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you.” (Jn 15:12) I get to take other people by the hand, to be their company and the Lord’s presence to them as they leave everything to go with Him. He sends me to the dying, the converting, people discerning their callings, to share in what He is doing. He is with me, and I am with Him.

When my mother Ruth became sick with cancer, she knew, deep down, that the Lord was calling her. I remember the day she was sitting on the couch in her living room, and she looked me in the eye and asked me with a trembling voice and tears welling up, “Will you be with me the whole way?” I was happy to tell her, “Yes, I will.” By the Lord’s gift I was and continue to be.

And you know what? Now, in return, my mother wants to be with me always. She is my hidden promoter. She is so very grateful, and she shares in all of the Lord’s works that I get to share in. I am with her and she is with me. The whole way.

“Entreat me not to leave you or to return from following you; for where you go I will go, and where you lodge I will lodge; your people shall be my people, and your God my God; where you die I will die, and there will I be buried.” (Ruth 1:16-17)

Mom

Mom

Mary received her vocation when the angel Gabriel came to her and told her she would be the mother of the Son of God. She said yes to leave everything and follow God’s call. Since then, filled with gratitude toward God and her Son, she wants to be with Them always. She is Jesus’ hidden promoter, and she shares in all His works. He is always with her and she is always with Him.

The whole way.

Each of us receives a call from God to leave everything and follow Him. It may be early in life, it may be in the middle, it may be at the very end. But whenever it is, when you hear it, give Him your Yes. When you say yes, you’ll receive His Life inside of you, and you’ll have so much gratitude that you’ll always want to be with Him. You’ll become His hidden promoter and you’ll share in all His works. He will always be with you and you will always be with Him.

The whole way.

Signature First Name 2

One thought on “The Whole Way

Leave a Reply

