The Freeing Power Of Faith

This week I was working in a temp job at a company in Boston. The task of the day was data entry. It’s a lot of clicking on things on the internet. In fact, it’s so much clicking that the internet browser eventually ends up hanging after an hour or so.

But before the internet hangs, it starts to show signs. First, one page loads slowly. Then a few more start dragging. Finally, if you haven’t gotten the hint that the browser’s going to stop working altogether, it hangs.

But that’s not all. So, you go and close the browser. Then you try to restart it. But then you get the message that it can’t restart, because it’s already running. What??

Fortunately, I have enough computer background to know to go to the Task Manager. The Task Manager is where you can put an end to all the mess that you’ve gotten yourself into. The Task Manager sees everything that’s going on, including all the things that are going on unseen in the background. I go to the tab called “processes”, and find the hidden browser file that’s still running. It’s a huge file, it’s been building up over the whole hour, becoming huge and unwieldy for the computer to handle. It’s ready to take down the whole machine. Click. That’s it. All gone. Now I can restart the browser and I’m off again.

Now, after having this happen a few times, I understood why a few of the other folks recommended restarting the browser every hour. I finally got it, and started listening to the browser when it started slowing down. Once an hour I restarted, and I never had a crash after that.

So this time I’m working along and a newer employee, Terry, is also working along at her computer on my left. After a while I hear a few groans, some huffs, and finally she volunteers to me that she’s feels like throwing her computer out. “What’s going on?” “It slowed down, and now it crashed, and now it won’t even let me restart the browser. I’m losing it.” A few more exasperated huffs and she put her face down into her hands.

“I think we can fix this – do you know how to do control-alt-delete?” We did that. “Now go to Task Manager.” Done. “Now go to processes.” Done. You could see the huge browser file sitting there comfortably.

“Now, click on that and then click ‘end process’.”

A pause.

I realized that, you know, she wasn’t exactly in known territory here. Terry is a young artist, a dancer and actress with a sort of childlike freedom. Clicking away for a few bucks is one thing, but now we were behind the scenes in the computer, dabbling in the unseen things that happen inside.

“I have faith in you.”

Click.

All gone.

“Now it should work,” I said

She tried to start the browser – success!

“You’re a good guy,” she said very simply.

I had a good laugh, “Thanks!”

Now, she was free to move on. And now, she knew me.

If our life seems like a browser that’s hanged, if you feel stuck in a rut and frustrated and discouraged, if you feel like life is stalled, then it’s a good time to turn to the Lord. He is going to take us to our own Task Manager. He is going to turn on the light on the unseen things that are happening inside us. Yes, it may be unknown territory, but don’t be afraid. Have faith in Him. He will walk you through it, and He will show you how to get rid of that thing inside that’s becoming too huge and unwieldy for you to handle, the thing that’s seems ready to take down your whole life.

And when He frees you to move on, you will know Him.

sheep-with-shepherd

At that time Jesus declared, “I thank you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, that you have hidden these things from the wise and understanding and revealed them to little ones; yes, Father, for such was your gracious will. All things have been delivered to me by my Father; and no one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and any one to whom the Son chooses to reveal him. Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me; for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” (Mt 11:25-30)

Signature First Name 2

Leave a Reply

