Ambassadors For Christ

A few years ago, I was volunteering at a Boston hospital as an Extraordinary Minister of Holy Communion, and one day I was making visits with the Lord in the Blessed Sacrament. I came into one room and met a young woman Dana who was suffering very much but was very friendly. I noticed that she walked with a cane, and at that very weakly.

“I’m very weak,” she said courageously. “The disease I have is very rare. I only have a few months to live. But it’s also taken my sight.” Then she said, “I have a bible here – could you read some of it for me?”

Let me tell you, that’s like asking Pavorati if he wants to sing, or LeBron James if he wants to play hoop. “Sure – what would you like to hear?”

“I like John chapter 6.” So I opened the scriptures and read the chapter to her as best I could.

She received the Lord in Holy Communion, and afterwards, before I left, she stopped me and said, “I’m going home in a few days – could you call me and read the Bible once in a while?” Ummm … weell … I don’t normally cross those boundaries, but something about this time … OK. She put her name and number in large letters on a piece of paper.

About a week later or so, I called her up, and began to read the Bible to her. She experienced a great deal of pain and anguish over her disease, which was slowly but painfully taking her life. The Lord Jesus had brought her back to the Church only a few years earlier after a half-broken life, and she had requested that she might be a victim soul for Him. A few months later, she was diagnosed with this painful, rare, terminal illness.

But Dana had great wisdom and spiritual insight, a great and personal love for Jesus, and just listening to her, even in the midst of her periods of discouragement, was inspiring to me. It was just such a privilege to be able to know this suffering saint.

I knew that this young woman was so especially precious to Jesus, and I knew that my visits that day I met her were all about her.

How Jesus loves those who believe in Him! What a privilege it is to share in His love and service to His little ones!

If you give yourself entirely to Jesus, if you follow Him, you will be with Him in His greatest works. “If anyone serves me, he must follow me; and where I am, there shall my servant be also; if anyone serves me, the Father will honor him.” (Jn 12:26)

But you won’t just be an observer, not just a passive fly on the wall. No, He will send you in His name, and your hands, your feet, your face, your voice, your words, all these will be His.

“So we are ambassadors for Christ, God making his appeal through us.” (2 Cor 5:20)

And He will do His greatest works of mercy through you.

“The Spirit of the Lord is upon me,
Because he has anointed me to preach good news to the poor.
He has sent me to proclaim release to the captives
And recovering of sight to the blind,
To set at liberty those who are oppressed,
To proclaim the acceptable year of the Lord.”
(Lk 4:18-19)

Signature First Name 2

4 thoughts on “Ambassadors For Christ

  1. Amen. Her gift to Him was man’s utmost. His gift to her was God’s utmost. Your gift of yes was to them both. All the way to heaven is heaven, and indeed, where sin abounded, grace abounded even more. May God bless..

  2. A beautiful story, Jerome, of love, courage and unity.

    Lightborrower, I just read that very quote in the letters of Dorothy Day book that I just blogged about. D.D. wrote: “And Catherine of Siena assures us that “all the way to heaven is heaven, because He said, I am the Way.” And just a few pages later she quotes what you said in the second part of your sentence; she writes: “There is another bit of Scripture which stands out in my mind these days. It is this: Where sin abounds, there did grace more abound. Resting in this promise, I am content.” Wow; what are the chances of that? God-incidences. Two!

Leave a Reply

