The Lord Will Give You The Seat You Really Want

A month ago, I had the opportunity to go to a concert to hear my friend Clare play. She’s a world-class cellist, and it’s a great privilege to hear her play.

The concert was outdoors in a local park, and when I got there, I realized I had made a big mistake. I looked around and noticed everyone else had something that I didn’t have: a place to sit. Some people had blankets, some people had lawn chairs, some even had towels. Otherwise, there was fresh, green grass. That wouldn’t get along with my very light-colored khaki pants. “Big mistake,” I thought to myself. The only spot I could see was a little bench way off in the distance, outside the whole performance area.

I wandered about a little forlorn, looking around at all the blankets and chairs, hoping there might be a spot. No luck.

Then, all of a sudden, I noticed a clump of chairs right at the front. Except for a man and a woman, they were completely empty, and it was starting time for the concert. They looked like they were reserved for important people, but, see, I really wanted to be at the very front to hear Clare play. Hmm, I wondered who they were for. I decided to go and ask.

“Excuse me, are these seats reserved?” “We’re not sure what they’re for. But please, have a seat.” “OK.” I figured I’d sit there until I found out what they were for, in other words, until someone kicked me out. Anyway, this friendly guy seemed to enjoy my company. “Well, they’ll kick me out if they’re reserved.” “Oh, I wouldn’t worry about that. I’m the composer.”

This guy was a world-class composer of the first music piece of the evening, and he was there because tonight was the world premier. We chatted about his music, he told me about his frustration with having to re-write the music after the lyrics were changed by the author only several weeks ago. I told him I was a friend of Clare, the soloist. “Oh, then you belong here.”

Somehow, I got to spend the concert with him and his wife and friends. After his music, he was invited up on the stage and received an ovation. I got to sit with the guest of honor.

And I got the front-row seating to hear Clare.

Now, see, I’m not a regular at these things, I’m clueless about the classical music scene in Boston. I’m sure there were many people there who would love to have those seats. But it all happened because I really wanted to be at the front for Clare’s concert. It all happened because she is my friend.

The Lord’s big event is His wedding feast. We can make the big mistake of showing up unprepared. When we do, it can look like we’re going to miss out and be on the outside. But if you really want to be there in the front row, if He’s really your friend, if it really means that much to you, don’t give up. Don’t hold back. Look, seek, and ask.

The Lord will give you the seat you really want.

Ask, and it will be given you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. For every one who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened.” (Mt 7:7-8)

Signature First Name 2

3 thoughts on “The Lord Will Give You The Seat You Really Want

  1. Sometimes people attribute things to luck, but it’s rarely so simple, is it. You showed up, and you asked. That’s what Jesus desires us to do – show up, and ask. I love the image of you having gone unprepared because you were unaware of something that everybody else knew. Jesus takes everything into consideration when our time comes. His great mercy.

Leave a Reply

