February 22, A Special Day

On February, we had a Votive Mass of the Sacred Heart and Enthronement of the Divine Mercy, followed by a social celebration with food and drink to celebrate my mother’s entry into heaven. Providentially, February 22 is also the date that my sister entered heaven 15 years ago. It is also the date that Jesus appeared to St. Faustina 78 years ago in the vision that He desired to be painted – it is the anniversary of the Divine Mercy image and devotion as handed on through St. Faustina.

Thank you everyone that came and all that could not. May the Merciful Heart of Jesus give you His peace!

Votive Mass of the Sacred Heart and Enthronement of the Divine Mercy
Sunday, February 22, 2009
30 Miami Terrace, West Roxbury, Massachusetts

Mass

Celebrant: Fr. Charles Higgins
Lector: John Ammuzzini
Piano: Lila Cleary
Cantor: Bill Hobbib

Opening Hymn – Lord, When You Came To The Seashore
1. Lord, when you came to the seashore you weren’t seeking the wise or the wealthy, but only asking that I might follow.

Refrain:
O Lord, in my eyes you were gazing, Kindly smiling, my name you were saying; All I treasured, I have left on the sand there; Close to you, I will find other seas.

2. Lord, you knew what my boat carried: neither money nor weapons for fighting, but nets for fishing my daily labor.
Refrain

3. Lord, have you need of my labor, hands for service, a heart made for loving, my arms for lifting the poor and broken?
Refrain

4. Lord, send me where you would have me, to a village, or heart of the city; I will remember that you are with me.
Refrain

First Reading – Ezekiel 34:11-16

“For thus says the Lord GOD: Behold, I, I myself will search for my sheep, and will seek them out. As a shepherd seeks out his flock when some of his sheep have been scattered abroad, so will I seek out my sheep; and I will rescue them from all places where they have been scattered on a day of clouds and thick darkness. And I will bring them out from the peoples, and gather them from the countries, and will bring them into their own land; and I will feed them on the mountains of Israel, by the fountains, and in all the inhabited places of the country. I will feed them with good pasture, and upon the mountain heights of Israel shall be their pasture; there they shall lie down in good grazing land, and on fat pasture they shall feed on the mountains of Israel. I myself will be the shepherd of my sheep, and I will make them lie down, says the Lord GOD. I will seek the lost, and I will bring back the strayed, and I will bind up the crippled, and I will strengthen the weak, and the fat and the strong I will watch over; I will feed them in justice.”

The Word of the Lord

Responsorial Psalm – Psalm 103:1-2, 3-4, 6-7, 8, 10

Bless the LORD, O my soul;
and all that is within me, bless his holy name!
Bless the LORD, O my soul,
and forget not all his benefits,

Who forgives all your iniquity,
who heals all your diseases,
Who redeems your life from the Pit,
who crowns you with steadfast love and mercy,

The LORD works vindication
and justice for all who are oppressed.
He made known his ways to Moses,
his acts to the people of Israel.

The LORD is merciful and gracious,
slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love.
He does not deal with us according to our sins,
nor requite us according to our iniquities.

Second Reading – Ephesians 1:3-10

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in Christ with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places, even as he chose us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and blameless before him. He destined us in love to be his sons through Jesus Christ, according to the purpose of his will, to the praise of his glorious grace which he freely bestowed on us in the Beloved. In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses, according to the riches of his grace which he lavished upon us. For he has made known to us in all wisdom and insight the mystery of his will, according to his purpose which he set forth in Christ as a plan for the fulness of time, to unite all things in him, things in heaven and things on earth.

The Word of the Lord.

Gospel – Mt 11:25-30

At that time Jesus declared, “I thank thee, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, that thou hast hidden these things from the wise and understanding and revealed them to babes; yea, Father, for such was thy gracious will. All things have been delivered to me by my Father; and no one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and any one to whom the Son chooses to reveal him. Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me; for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

The Gospel of the Lord.

Closing Hymn: Hail Mary, Gentle Woman

Hail Mary, full of grace, the Lord is with you.
Blessed are you among women, and
Blessed is the fruit of your womb, Jesus.
Holy Mary, Mother of God,
Pray for us sinners now,
And at the hour of death. Amen.

Refrain:
Gentle woman, quiet light, morning star
so strong and bright,
gentle mother peaceful dove
teach us wisdom; teach us love.

You were chosen by the Father:
You were chosen for the Son,
You were chosen from all women
and for woman shining one.

Blessed are you among women
Blessed in turn all women too
Blessed they with peaceful spirits
Blessed they with gentle hearts.

Enthronement

Blessing

V: Our help is in the name of the Lord
R: Who made heaven and earth
V: The Lord be with you
R: And also with you

Let us pray:
Almighty, Eternal God, You have allowed pictures and statues of Your saints to be painted and carved, so that as often as we look upon them with our bodily eyes, we may recall with our more inward eyes their deeds and their sanctity and learn to imitate them.
In Your goodness, therefore, bless and sanctify this picture fashioned to reveal to us the unfathomable love of our Crucified and Risen Savior – Divine Mercy personified – and to recall to our minds the streams of Blood and Water gushing forth from His Pierced Heart to be a fount of Mercy for us.
Grant to all who invoke Your Mercy with this picture before their eyes, the grace of true repentance, pardon, and peace. Shield them from every danger to soul and body.
Loving Savior, establish in this picture the Throne of Your Mercy. Pour out upon all who approach it with faith and trust, the purifying, healing and sanctifying Rays of Grace ever emanating from it as from a blazing sun.
Gaze upon them from it as You did from the Cross with unfathomable Love and Compassion.
Through this image may your Divine Mercy triumph over all the powers and wiles of Satan the world over. May all who venerate it never perish. May it be their joy in life, their hope in death and their glory in eternity. This we ask through Christ Our Lord. Amen.
Act of Consecration
With boundless trust, on this solemn occasion we consecrate our family, our relatives, our friends, our country and the entire world to the purifying and renewing action of the Blood and Water which gushed forth from Your pierced Heart on the Cross of Calvary.
We consecrate our entire life from here on, to You without reserve. Into your hands we abandon our past, present, our future. Jesus, we ask You, from this day on, to look after this family. Help us to be true children of God and children of Your Blessed Mother Mary.
We formally intend to renew this act of consecration to Your Divine Mercy every day as often as we gae on the image and say, “Jesus, I trust in You.”

Divine Mercy Litany

THE LOVE OF GOD is the flower — Mercy the fruit. Let the doubting soul read these considerations on Divine Mercy and become trusting:
V: Divine Mercy, gushing forth from the bosom of the Father, R: I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, greatest attribute of God, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, incomprehensible mystery, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, fount gushing forth from the mystery of the Most Blessed Trinity, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, unfathomed by any intellect, human or angelic, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, from which wells forth all life and happiness, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, better than the heavens, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, source of miracles and wonders, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, encompassing the whole universe, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, descending to earth in the Person of the Incarnate Word, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, which flowed out from the open wound of the Heart of Jesus, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, enclosed in the Heart of Jesus for us, and especially for poor sinners, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, unfathomed in the institution of the Sacred Host, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, in the founding of Holy Church, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, in the Sacrament of Holy Baptism, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, in our justification through Jesus Christ, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, accompanying us through our whole life, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, embracing us especially at the hour of death, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, endowing us with immortal life, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, accompanying us every moment of our life, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, shielding us from the fire of hell, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, in the conversion of hardened sinners, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, astonishment for Angels, incomprehensible to Saints, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, unfathomed in all the mysteries of God, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, lifting us out of every misery, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, source of our happiness and joy, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, in calling us forth from nothingness to existence, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, embracing all the works of His hands, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, crown of all of God’s handiwork, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, in which we are all immersed, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, sweet relief for anguished hearts, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, only hope of despairing souls, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, repose of hearts, peace amidst fear, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, delight and ecstasy of holy souls, I trust in You.
Divine Mercy, inspiring hope against all hope, I trust in You (949).

Closing Prayer

Eternal God, in whom mercy is endless and the treasury of compassion inexhaustible, look kindly upon us and increase Your mercy in us, that in difficult moments we might not despair nor become despondent, but with great confidence submit ourselves to Your holy will, which is Love and Mercy itself.
O incomprehensible and limitless Mercy Divine, who can extol and adore You worthily.

Leave a Reply

