The Coming of The King

On August 22, eleven days before my mother died, somehow – I don’t remember how – we came across a song that was Pope John Paul II’s favorite song. It’s called “Lord, When You Came To The Seashore.” It is about the Lord Jesus coming to call a disciple to leave everything for a new life with Him. We both loved it, and I found the lyrics on the internet and printed them out for us. So, we sat in the house and sang the song together.

Now, August 22 is the feast of the Queenship of Mary. The Church celebrates God’s crowning of Mary as Queen of all heaven and earth. By taking her place next to the King, her Son, she left everything to begin a new life with Him.

Several days before my mother died, she started having fits of vomiting. Several times a day, she would sit up in her bed with a pan. When I was around, I would sit with her and bolster her up with my arm behind her.

A few days before she died, I was sitting next to her and she suddenly sat up with another vomit fit. I got the pan and sat next to her, putting my arm behind her to give her support. We both sat, facing the Divine Mercy image, and in between fits of vomiting, she suddenly looked at me and smiled. It took me by complete surprise. All of a sudden, she began singing, “Looooord, when You came to the seashore …” So I joined in with her, sitting on the bed, shoulder to shoulder, swaying left to right, in front of the Divine Mercy image:

“Lord, when You came to the seashore,
You weren’t seeking the wise or the wealthy,
but only asking that I might follow.
O Lord, in my eyes you were gazing,
Kindly smiling, my name you were saying;
All I treasured, I have left on the sand there;
Close to you, I will find other seas.”

Listen, your watchmen lift up their voice, together they sing for joy; for eye to eye they see the return of the LORD to Zion. Break forth together into singing, you waste places of Jerusalem, for the LORD has comforted his people, he has redeemed Jerusalem. The LORD has bared his holy arm before the eyes of all the nations; and all the ends of the earth shall see the salvation of our God.” (Is 52:8-10)

Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion!
Shout aloud, O daughter of Jerusalem!
Lo, your king comes to you;
triumphant and victorious is he,
humble and riding on an ass,
on a colt the foal of an ass
.” (Zech 9:9)

Leave a Reply

